Obama’s Speech: More Reactions

This week we’ve been asking out contributors to offer up their response to Barack Obama’s big speech on race relations in America. You  can see the original article and questions here.

Now we’re hearing from the bloggers down at Youth Radio LA:

At this moment I still do not know where I politically stand, but one thing I am sure of is that I agreed with Obama’s race speech. His words are the words that I wished people were more courageous to speak out. Race has always been an issue in this country and probably always will; but the fact that someone is willing to acknowledge it and speak out about it is not something that this country has seen much of. I am very impressed with how Obama was willing to speak about who he really is and about his life experiences, as well as how these experiences make him different from all the other candidates.-Nalani Melo, age 18

YRLA’s top blogger, Anne Santos, addresses our questions: “Has your opinion of Obama changed in the past couple of weeks? Your friends/parents? How?”

I’ve been a fan of Hilary Clinton for a long time, but lately, she’s been losing some points. After hearing a fraction of this speech made me feel Obama a lot more. So yeah, my opinion has changed. As far as my my mom, sister, or friends, I have no clue. But for me, I definitely understand why so many people want him as our president. Everything he covered in that speech hit hard, because he related himself/his problems with everyone. I liked what he had to say, when he said, “I chose to run for the presidency at this moment in history because I believe deeply that we cannot solve the challenges of our time unless we solve them together – unless we perfect our union by understanding that we may have different stories, but we hold common hopes; that we may not look the same and we may not have come from the same place, but we all want to move in the same direction – towards a better future for of children and our grandchildren.” I think everyone should listen to this speech.
-Anne Santos, age 21

Releated Articles:

Responding to Obama

 Obama’s Speech: History in the Making?

King Anyi: Dreamin’ With Obama 

Leave a Reply

